Russia will no longer receive entry visas from Latvia

Synopsis: According to the latest travel news from Latvia, authorities have decided to stop issuing entry visas to Russians. This decision has been taken after long consideration of the present circumstances of the Russo-Ukrainian war. The new changes in the cross-border deal become effective from August 1. 

Travel news update, Russo Ukrainian war, Europe Travel news, Latvian government

Latvia, a European country, is getting quite strict about the security of its citizens after the Russo-Ukrainian war. To provide enhanced security to the citizens living in the border region, the country has decided to suspend the cross-border deal with Russia. The cross-border deal with Russia was signed to simplify the travel process between the two countries, but after seeing the condition of Ukraine, the country is more concerned about security. 

The latest travel news update from Latvia confirms that they have stopped issuing entry visas to Russian citizens from 1 August, and Russia, on the other hand, responded by freezing its diplomatic relations with Latvia.

Not only Latvia, but other European countries like Estonia and Finland are strongly supporting Latvia in this decision. A couple of days ago, Estonia prohibits Russians with Schengen visas from entering their boundaries.

The decision taken by the Latvian government is the result of a long-running dispute between Russia and Ukraine. 

According to the authorities of the Baltic State government, the Latvian consulate in Pskov, Russia, which had been the only diplomatic mission issuing documents to Russian citizens as part of the simplified scheme, was shut down.

Authorities in Latvia have emphasized that the choice to halt this agreement, which has been in effect since 2010, was made a few weeks ago, and that it took effect on August 1st.

Authorities in Latvia have decided to stop issuing entry visas to citizens of Russia due to the latter’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine. Due to Russia’s extensive invasion of Ukraine, authorities in Latvia have decided to stop granting entry visas to Russian nationals.

Earlier this year, in April, Latvian authorities decided to close two Russian Consulates General and expel their staff members. At the same time, due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the Baltic States stopped granting entry visas to Russian nationals and residents.

Yesterday, Latvia’s Foreign Minister, Edgars Rinkevics, in a meeting with members of other European Union members, followed the example of Riga and decided to ban Russians from invading European boundaries. The Minister also urged the EU to stop issuing Russian citizens tourist visas.

The post Russia will no longer receive entry visas from Latvia appeared first on World Tour & Travel Guide, Get Travel Tips, Information, Discover Travel Destination | Adequate Travel.